About HINGHAM, MA Cub Scout Pack 27


Cub Scout Pack 27 in Hingham is chartered to Foster Elementary School from the Boy Scouts of America (BSA). The Cubmaster and Pack Committee Chair is Ted Matthews. (617-312-7200) Ted_Matthews@icloud.com


Character development should extend into every aspect of a boys life and as such it should also extend into every aspect of Cub Scouting.  Character development should also challenge Cub Scouts to experience core values in six general areas: God, world, country, community, family, and self.  With character defined as the collection of core values by an individual that leads to moral commitment and action; Hingham Cub Scout Pack 27 strives to use the 12 core values of Cub Scouting:



Cub Scout Pack 155 Character Counts


  • Citizenship: Contributing service and showing responsibility to local, state, and national communities.
  • Compassion: Being kind and considerate, and showing concern for the well-being of others.
  • Cooperation: Being helpful and working together with others toward a common goal.
  • Courage: Being brave and doing what is right regardless of our fears, how hard it is or what the consequences may be.
  • Faith: Having inner strength or confidence based on our trust in God.
  • Health and fitness: Being personally committed to keeping our minds and bodies clean and fit.
  • Honesty: Telling the truth and being a person worthy of trust.
  • Perseverance: Sticking with something and not giving up; even if it is difficult.
  • Positive attitude: Being cheerful and setting our minds to look for and find the best in all situations.
  • Resourcefulness: Using human and other resources to their fullest.
  • Respect: Showing regard for the worth of someone or something.
  • Responsibility: Fulfilling our duty to God, country, other people, and ourselves.



scouting.jpg picture by CubScoutPack317


 There are 6 levels (Ranks) to Cub Scouting;
Lion (Kindergarten)
Tiger (1st grade)
Wolf (2nd grade)
Bear (3rd grade)
Webelos 1 (4th grade)
Arrow of Light (5th grade)

Boys are placed in dens according to grade.  Each den consists of approximately 8 -10 boys and 2 to 4 Den Leaders/Assists. The boys in the den go on tours, learn new skills and have fun playing games. Once formed, dens decide when, where and how often they meet.

Boys earn their Arrow of Light (usually in February of 5th Grade) to join Boy Scouts in a troop and begin another journey of activities designed for older boys with more high adventure, responsibility and independence.


The Boy Scouts of America’s (BSA) program has three overall aims:
  1. Character development: to build character, to build self-reliance, self-discipline, self-confidence and self-respect
  2. Citizenship Training: to foster love of community, country and world, along with a commitment of service to others and an understanding of democratic principles.
  3. Personal Fitness: to develop physical, mental, emotional, and moral fitness that will stay with a Scout for the rest of his life.
Cub Scouting assists in teaching values and developing character in boys by offering a program where boys can experience value based activities with caring leadership and family support. The mission of the BSA is to prepare young people to make ethical choices over their lifetime by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law. The goal is simple: develop today’s youth into tomorrow’s leaders and good citizens for America. Scouting reinforces America’s communities and families with its quality, values-based programs.



Cub Scouting is a year-round family-oriented program.


As boys participate in a Cub Scout activity, they learn to “connect” their experience with a core value. Boys connect by learning (knowledge), feeling (commitment), and accomplishing (practice) the skills that relate to these values. In an effort to make character development part of every boy’s experience in the Cub Scout program, the “Character Connections” will be integrated throughout the boys’ handbooks and advancement programs. These aims are met through the purposes of the Cub Scouting which are:


1. Character Development

2. Spiritual Growth

3. Good Citizenship

4. Sportsmanship and Fitness

5. Family Understanding

6. Respectful Relationships

7. Personal Achievement

8. Friendly Service

9. Fun and Adventure

10. Preparation for Boy Scouts


 Scouts are also a members of The Pack, the group of all Dens. The Pack meets once a month and is a time for boys to be recognized for their accomplishments during the month, review activities learned in the den meetings, and to have fun with the entire family. Packs are led by a Cubmaster, Den Masters and pack Committee.


 During the past year Hingham Pack 27 activities included:


Attended Family Camp weekend at Camp Norse in Kingston (early July)

Planned and executed the Blue & Gold Banquet - Scoutings Birthday celebration (February)

Had an overnight journey to The Ecoterium in Worcester MA

Popcorn sales fundraiser (Fall)

Community Service- Visited Nursing Homes, collected food and Coats for Charity, Decorate and Distributed Wreathes to Thaxter Park Community.

Attended Red Sox, Prov Bruins Games. Received special recognition

Attended Town of Hingham Veterans Day Ceremony

Much Interaction with Hingham Boy Scouts

Klondike Derby - annual winter regional skills and leadership competition for Webelos

Pinewood Derby - a Pack highlight where scouts build cars from wood and then race them.

Crossover Ceremony - fifth grade Webelos scouts moved on to Boy Scouts

Held a Wiffle Ball and Ice Cream Recruiting event

Participated in Memorial Day Ceremonies

Built and entered a float in the 4th of July Parade with other Hingham Cub Scout Packs.

Spontaneous Day Hikes